Education - Licensing Renewals

Real Estate Affiliate Broker License

A real estate affiliate broker license is required for persons who for a fee, commission, finders fee or any other valuable consideration, or with the intent or expectation of receiving the same from another, solicits, negotiates or attempts to solicit or negotiate the listing, sale, purchase, exchange, lease or option to buy, sell, rent or exchange for any real estate or of the improvements thereon or any time-share interval as defined in the Tennessee Time-Share Act, compiled in title 66, chapter 32, part 1, collects rents or attempts to collect rents, auctions or offers to auction, or who advertises or holds themselves out as engaged in any of the foregoing; or any person employed by or on behalf of the owner or owners of lots or other parcels of real estate, at a salary, fee, commission, or any other valuable consideration, to sell such real estate or any part thereof, in lots or parcels or other disposition thereof.

Requirements

  • Take and pass the national and state exams with a 70% or better score.
  • Submit fingerprints per fingerprint instructions
  • Submit proof of high school degree or GED
  • Submit application fee (Application will be generated by exam administrator/PSI)
  • If active, submit proof of E&O insurance, affiliate with a licensed Tennessee firm and have principal broker sign application.

Fees

Examination Fee: $55.00

Examination Retest Fee: $43.00

Application: $110

Renewal fee: $80 (biennial)

Additional

Affiliate broker candidates must complete real estate education in real estate principles/fundamentals before they take the examination. Proof that the education described above has been completed will be forwarded by the school where the education was completed to PSI, the exam administrator.

Applicants may not register for the examination until the school has provided that information to PSI. The school will also provide a certificate or letter of course completion that must be submitted with the application for licensure.  Additional information can be found in the Candidate Information Bulletin.

16 hours of continuing education is required for renewal each 2 year renewal period in order to maintain licensure.

Persons engaged in Property Management need a Tennessee broker or affiliate broker real estate license.


Real Estate Broker License

A real estate broker license is required for persons who for a fee, commission, finders fee or any other valuable consideration, or with the intent or expectation of receiving the same from another, solicits, negotiates or attempts to solicit or negotiate the listing, sale, purchase, exchange, lease or option to buy, sell, rent or exchange for any real estate or of the improvements thereon or any time-share interval as defined in the Tennessee Time-Share Act, compiled in title 66, chapter 32, part 1, collects rents or attempts to collect rents, auctions or offers to auction, or who advertises or holds themselves out as engaged in any of the foregoing; or any person employed by or on behalf of the owner or owners of lots or other parcels of real estate, at a salary, fee, commission, or any other valuable consideration, to sell such real estate or any part thereof, in lots or parcels or other disposition thereof.

Requirements

1)  To be eligible for the examination, broker candidates must have held an ACTIVE license that meets one of these criteria:

  • 24 months actively licensed, if licensed as an affiliate broker on or before May 12, 1988.
  • 36 months actively licensed, if licensed as an affiliate broker after May 12, 1988.
  • 24 months actively licensed, if the candidate has a baccalaureate degree with a major in real estate.

2)  In addition to experience, broker candidates must have successfully completed 120 classroom hours of approved real estate education, 30 hours of which must be an "Office/Broker Management" course taken at a school approved by the Tennessee Real Estate Commission.

3)  Submit the completed Broker Examination Application to the Tennessee Real Estate Commission.

Commission approval is necessary before the broker candidate may make an examination appointment. After completing a review of education and experience documentation, the Tennessee Real Estate Commission will inform candidates of eligibility for examination. Candidates may make an examination reservation after they have been approved.

Licensure Application Requires that applicant:

  • Take and pass the national and state exams with a 75% or greater score;
  • Submit fingerprints per fingerprint instructions if not continuously licensed as broker or affiliate broker in Tennessee;
  • Submit proof of high school degree or GED;
  • After passing exam submit application with application fee; and
  • If active, submit proof of E&O insurance and have principal broker sign application.

Additional information of state licenses and requirements can be found HERE